Defense Attorneys for Clients with Firearms Violations in DuPage County
While United States citizens have the right to bear arms under the 2nd Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, in reality, it is more of a privilege than a right. That privilege can be stripped if a firearm owner violates state or federal gun laws or commits a violent or felony offense.
In an effort to curb gun violence and suicide, Illinois maintains some of the more stringent firearms laws in the country. If you face a weapons charge in Illinois, you need an experienced criminal defense attorney who will fight for your rights as a gun owner. At Anderson Attorneys & Advisors, we understand how important firearms are to individuals who value self-defense and who utilize guns for hunting and target shooting. We are the skilled weapons charges defense lawyers to have by your side for the preservation of your right to own and carry a firearm.
Illinois Gun Laws
Firearm laws in Illinois include the following stipulations:
- To buy and possess a firearm and ammunition in Illinois, you must have a valid firearm owners identification (FOID) card, which is good for 10 years. This process involves a full background check.
- The state has a 72-hour waiting period between the purchase of a handgun and a purchaser’s ability to take possession of the weapon.
- The Illinois State Police issues concealed carry licenses (CCL) to residents 21 years and older who complete a 16-hour training course.
- While Illinois’ CCW license is recognized in half the states across the country, the State of Illinois does not recognize CCW licenses issued in other states.
- The state’s child access prevention law outlaws leaving a gun unlocked and accessible to minors under 14 years old.
- Guns cannot be carried on school grounds or in government buildings, jails, restaurants in which 50 percent of sales come from alcohol, public parks, athletic areas, casinos, airports, amusement parks, zoos, or museums.
- For private gun sales, a seller must verify the buyer’s FOID card by contacting the state police for approval.
- Any valid FOID card-holder who is convicted of a felony, domestic violence, or battery or assault with a firearm faces immediate license revocation.
Penalties for Gun Crimes in Illinois
Firearm violations in Illinois can be charged as misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the offense and the circumstances of your case. For instance, if you are charged with unlawful possession of a firearm, including having a gun without a valid FOID card, you could face a Class A misdemeanor with up to a year in jail, two years of probation, and $2,500 in fines; or a Class 4 felony, which brings up to three years in prison, 30 months of probation, and $25,000 in fines. Convicted felons in possession of a weapon can be charged with a Class 3 felony, with up to five years in prison. Also, charges may be upgraded if a suspect is a repeat offender.
With 30+ years of combined experience, the lawyers at Anderson Attorneys & Advisors can conduct a complete investigation and carefully detail the facts of your case to formulate the most effective defense strategy. We can assess if your rights were violated by law enforcement at any point during your arrest, including illegal search and seizure. We can pursue dropped or reduced charges and will exhaust every available option to keep a conviction off your record. If you are an out-of-state resident, we will seek to minimize your court appearances as we pursue a favorable outcome.
Contact a DuPage County Firearms Lawyer
Gun laws are often complicated, and they vary state-to-state, which often leads to confusion, misinterpretation, and accidental offenses. Regardless of the charges you face, the circumstances of your case, and whether you are a first-time offender or have multiple convictions, you can depend on Anderson Attorneys & Advisors for an elite-level defense that gets results. To speak with an experienced Wheaton defense attorney, contact us at 630-877-5800 today. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.