Lawyers Defending Against Rape and Child Sex Crime Charges
Due to the serious nature of sex crimes, they are often strongly prosecuted by law enforcement officials. Unfortunately, this often means that those who have been accused of these types of offenses are not afforded the right to be considered innocent until proven guilty. An accusation of a sex crime can affect a person’s reputation, career, and family relationships, and a conviction can not only result in a lengthy prison sentence, but a person may also be required to register as a sex offender for life. If you are facing these types of accusations, it is crucial to speak to a criminal defense attorney immediately. Contact Anderson Attorneys & Advisors today at 630-877-5800.
Consequences of Sexual Assault and Other Sexual Offenses
When most people hear the term “sex crime,” they think of rape, sexual assault, or sexual abuse. However, sex crimes come in a wide variety of forms, and the consequences can vary based on the circumstances of the offense and the age of the alleged victim. For example, criminal sexual assault is charged as a Class 1 felony, but a charge may be elevated to aggravated criminal sexual assault, a Class X felony, due to a variety of factors, including if a person allegedly used a weapon or caused bodily harm to the victim or if the alleged victim was over the age of 60.
A conviction of a Class 1 felony can result in a prison sentence of 4 to 15 years, and the standard prison sentence for a Class X felony is 6 to 30 years. However, additional prison time may be added for more serious offenses, such as predatory criminal sexual assault of a child or using a firearm when committing sexual assault. Those convicted of sex crimes will be required to register as a sex offender for at least 10 years, and in some cases, for the rest of their life. This can affect their ability to obtain housing or employment.
In recent years, one offense that has become more common is the sharing of information that was intended to be private. For example, a person may possess sexually explicit photos or videos of a former romantic partner, and they may share these photos or videos on a website or send them to people via text message or email with the intent of embarrassing the person depicted. In Illinois, this is a criminal offense known as “non-consensual dissemination of private sexual images,” and it is a Class 4 felony.
- Revenge porn may include depictions of sexual acts or exposure of intimate parts
- A Class 4 felony can result in one to three years in jail and up to $25,000 in fines
- A victim may also pursue a civil lawsuit against an offender
Due to the prevalence of smartphones, social media, and other forms of electronic communication, many people, including minors, send sexually explicit images or videos to each other. However, explicit depictions of a person under the age of 18 are considered child pornography. Adults who possess or distribute these images may face felony charges, and minors who share these images may face adjudication and supervision in the juvenile justice system or more serious criminal charges.
- Adults charged with child pornography may face a Class 1 or Class X felony
- Minors may be required to undergo counseling or complete community service
- Minors may also face additional criminal charges for the dissemination of child pornography
Legal Help With Sex Crimes in Illinois
In addition to the offenses detailed above, we can provide the defense you need when facing any of the sex crimes identified under Illinois law, including:
- Criminal Sexual Abuse
- Aggravated Criminal Sexual Abuse
- Criminal Sexual Assault
- Aggravated Criminal Sexual Assault
- Failure to Register as a Sex Offender
- Predatory Criminal Sexual Assault
- Predatory Criminal Sexual Assault of a Child
- Indecent Solicitation
- Unauthorized Video Recording
- Solicitation of a Prostitute or Sexual Act
- Harassment through Electronic Communication
- Unlawful Restraint
- Aggravated Unlawful Restraint
- Non Consensual Dissemination of Private Images
- Public Indecency
- Sexual Exploitation of a Child
- Child Abduction
- Possession, Distribution, Manufacturing of Child Pornography
- Failure to Report Sex Abuse of a Child
Frequently Asked Questions
What Activities Can Result in Prostitution Charges?
Offering or agreeing to perform sexual acts in exchange for money or anything of value is considered prostitution, which is a Class A misdemeanor in Illinois. A person who solicits a prostitute by offering payment in exchange for sexual acts may also be charged with a Class A misdemeanor, and soliciting sex from a person under the age of 18 is a Class 4 felony.
Is There a Difference Between Sexual Assault and Date Rape?
Committing an act of sexual penetration with a person who is unable to give consent is considered sexual assault, including in cases where the alleged victim was unconscious or intoxicated. If a controlled substance was administered to a victim without their consent when sexual assault was allegedly committed, charges may be elevated to aggravated criminal sexual assault.
When Is Sex With a Minor Considered Statutory Rape?
The “age of consent” in Illinois is 17. An adult who commits an act of sexual penetration or sexual conduct with a child under the age of 17 may be charged with criminal sexual abuse, unless the alleged offender is less than five years older than the alleged victim. Criminal sexual abuse is a Class A misdemeanor. Depending on the circumstances, the adult may be charged with other more serious felonies as well.
What Rules Do Registered Sex Offenders Need to Follow?
A person on the Illinois Sex Offender Registry must register with their local law enforcement agency on an annual basis, and those who are considered “sexually dangerous” or “sexually violent” must register every 90 days. A person must also notify law enforcement within three days of moving to a new location. Registered sex offenders cannot live within 500 feet of a school, playground, or facility that provides programs or services for children under the age of 18.